Why is there a check for ownership when having a sort button?Not An Issue

I'm having a hard time understanding what the purpose of this is.

There is an option in config file that control this.

I turned it off but just wondering if there is some risk in having this off.

it checks for the ownership of the container you're trying to sort, and prevents players from sorting other player's containers, as the name of the config option says.